Hey, L.A.! If you loved or hated my blog post on Philip Seymour Hoffman, go hear this guy!

ImageDavid Sheff, best-selling author of the memoir “Beautiful Child” and “Clean” is in town to discuss addiction prevention and treatment. You can catch him on Monday night at a book signing and discussion in West Hollywood and/or Tuesday night in Westwood  on a panel with the Director of UCLA’s Addiction Medicine Clinic.
 
On Monday evening in LA, please join David Sheff for a conversation about addiction, America’s greatest tragedy, at Book Soup, the awesome bookstore in West Hollywood. 7 PM. — at Book Soup. 8818 Sunset Blvd.
 
And….
 
Dr. Timothy Feng and author David Sheff will be in conversation Tuesday evening, 7 PM, at UCLA, presented by the Friends of the Semel Institute. Please join us. They’ll be talking about preventing and treating addiction, America’s greatest tragedy. RSVP @ http://www.friendsofnpi.org in order to get free tickets.
 
David Sheff is a professional writer whose research and reporting on the science of addiction has placed him on Time Magazine’s list of the world’s most influential people. His writing is NOT clumsy (like mine) and no doubt hearing him speak will clear up any questions or problems you might have with the concept of addicts losing free will and the ability to make good choices in the moment.
 
I’ve never read him, but I just got a copy of “Clean” and the bibliography has 331 research citations!! For a research nerd like myself, this is as good as it gets. For those of you who don’t have the time or inclination to digest 335 pages, plus 43 pages of appendix, bibliography and index, I’ll be taking notes and boiling it all down as best as I can in future blog posts.
 
However, if you’re in or near Los Angeles, there’s no need to wait for me to do my homework. Go hear David Sheff for yourself!
 
FYI: Sheff has a Facebook page where you can find information about speaking engagements in other parts of the country.
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Hey, L.A.! If you loved or hated my blog post on Philip Seymour Hoffman, go hear this guy!

  1. I got tears in my eyes just reading this post about David Sheff. I read both of the books you mention (not sure if he has written more) many years ago when my healing was an open wound. His stories put me right in the thick of the chaos, and eventually healing. And shows that addiction knows no boundaries. Too bad he is not coming to NY, would love to see him speak. Thank you for your post.

    • Dear NYLori, Thank you for commenting. I am so glad that you were able to be helped by his books. The paperback edition of “Clean” just came out and contains a bit of new information, so you might want to have it for your collection. Keep checking his FB page. I am guessing he will make it to NY eventually, maybe sooner than you think. Blessings,
      Debbie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s